(970) 404-8884

Face DUI Charges with Fort Collins DUI Attorney David H. Johnson

Fort Collins DUI attorney can help you through the process of combatting drunk driving charges. Facing criminal charges of any kind can certainly be a trying experience, and Colorado law is very strict on DUI offenses. To some degree, the results of a conviction can last a lifetime, so it’s in your best interest to seek a solid defense against your DUI charges.

When facing these charges, DUI attorney, David H. Johnson, can help you. He’ll take a look at the facts surrounding your case and determine a legal strategy for you.

Colorado DUI Laws

In Colorado, DUI’s are typically misdemeanors, though they can escalate to felonies after multiple offenses. One law defines a DUI as driving while your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at 0.08 or higher. As such, one potential defense that your lawyer may use is to refute evidence of a high BAC, potentially reducing or eliminating charges.

In the event that a DUI resulted in injury or death to another person, it becomes a felony charge. This charge carries heavier penalties than misdemeanor charges and can have a long-lasting effect on your future opportunities. In order to prevent these lifelong effects, you need the counsel of a DUI lawyer.

Fort Collins DUI Penalties

For a first-time offense, a DUI conviction may result in the following:

  • Five days to one year in jail (often suspended for first-time offenders);
  • Maximum of $1,000 in fines;
  • Potential driver’s license revocation;
  • 48 to 96 hours of community service;
  • Probation up to two years;
  • A multitude of costs and fees;
  • Victim Impact Panel sponsored by MADD;
  • A substance evaluation and appropriate treatment.

In most cases, first-time offenders can go through an educational course and therapy rather than face jail time. However, if your BAC is higher than 0.20, jail time is mandatory, even with a first-time offense.

David H. Johnson can work on your behalf, create a sound legal strategy for your defense and help minimize these penalties. At times he is able to keep the offense from going on your driving record.

Handling Repeat Offenses with a Fort Collins DUI Attorney

Repeat DUI offenses carry heavier penalties, and after three prior convictions will result in a felony charge. Also, if your BAC was found to be above 0.15, then you will receive a Colorado Persistent Drunk Driver designation (PDD) and be sentenced as a repeat offender. The penalties for a repeat offense include:

  • Jail time from ten days to one year with an additional year of jail suspended;
  • A fine up to $1,500;
  • Driver’s license revocation;
  • Use of an ignition interlock device for up to two years after license reinstatement;
  • 48 to 120 hours of community service;
  • Probation for at least two years;
  • Victim Impact Panel sponsored by MADD;
  • A substance evaluation and appropriate treatment;
  • A multitude of costs and fees.

After a third DUI or DWAI, a new DUI offense becomes a class 4 felony. It’s important to seek the help of a DUI attorney if charged with a Felony DUI. The penalty range is a fine up to $500,000 and up to six years in prison; serious consequences that deserve qualified legal help.

Minimizing Consequences of a Fort Collins DUI

Fort Collins DUI attorney, David H. Johnson, can help reduce your burden when facing criminal charges. He will examine the facts of your case, analyze the evidence, and determine the best possible defense to take. The prosecution has the burden of proof. David H. Johnson will look for every way he can to show the prosecution cannot meet that burden of proof.

If you are facing DUI charges, contact a reliable DUI lawyer today at 970-404-8884.

Helping clients in FORT COLLINS and throughout Northern Colorado.
Address:
419 Canyon Avenue #226
Fort Collins, CO 80521
Copyright © 2024 Ligget, Johnson & Goodman, P.C. - All Rights Reserved.
Powered By:
chevron-down